Mesker Brothers Iron Works and George L. Mesker and Company were two competing companies that produced building facades and ornamental storefront components beginning in the 1880s. Louisiana ranks sixth in the nation for the most existing Mesker buildings. 1
The original building at this location was built by William Alexander in 1872.
Dr. Salathiel Ayres built his business in 1891 at the cost of $2,500. He used the upper level of this building as his office for many years. 1
Built in 1891, this two story brick Italianate style commercial building showcases projecting decorative metal window hoods.
This Italianate style building was built in 1885 with two storefronts. It has a projecting pressed metal cornice above a brick corbel pattern.
Unfortunately this building is no longer standing but it has history worth sharing.
Parks’ Music House was situated at 320-322 Georgia Street.
These two uneven sized storefronts were built in 1891 by A.J. Rogers for his saloon at a cost of $3,500. Note the well executed brick corbeling topped by a projecting bracketed press metal cornice.
The two story brick commercial building was constructed in 1891 with four separate storefronts.
This two story Mesker building was built in the 1870s.
The addition of the iron pilasters add beautiful detail to the building front.
This Italianate style two story commercial building was built in the 1890s. The entire facade is covered with Mesker press metal topped by an ornate projecting metal bracketed cornice.
Built in 1890, the second floor served as the Odd Fellows Lodge. Note the four crossed formed by the brick work